C part from Piece 4 Six (string quartet & 2 percussion) [1997]

5 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

Piece 4 Six stemmed from the idea that every major aspect of a composition (rhythm, harmony and structure) could be determined by a single number series, in this case the Fibonacci series (1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13 etc.). Each section is announced by the triangle, building up increasingly difficult rhythmic complexities, culminating at the golden section on a unison A, from where the thematic ideas slowly work themselves back down to a retrograde version of the beginning, where the piece ends, mid-flow.

The scoring is open (i.e.: any four melody instruments with the correct ranges could be used), but is easiest for string quartet and two percussion players.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by John Pitts INTENSELY PLEASANT MUSIC. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com John Pitts INTENSELY PLEASANT MUSIC has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.