Trumpet 1 in Eb part from Gratias Agimus (brass quintet)

B minor Mass

J S Bach
3 minutes
Classical music

The chorus ’Gratias Agimus’ from Bach’s great B Minor Mass is a strict fugue in stretto. There are two subjects: the first has been used innumerable times. Here it is given first by the Tuba in bars 1-3, followed immediately by successive overlapping entries in the Horn, Trumpet 2 and Trumpet 1. The Trombone announces the second subject in bar 5, again followed by the Horn and Trumpets. With slight variation this magnificent chorus is repeated at the end of the Mass to the words ’Dona Nobis Pacem’. Chhose symphonic or brass band parts.

In this arrangement the first Trumpet part may be played on the Bb trumpet, changing to Bb Piccolo towards the end, or alternatively on Eb Trumpet throughout. Parts are provided for both eventualities. To see my other scores available on this site, go to:

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Jerry Lanning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Jerry Lanning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.