Violin II part from Triptych for Strings

11 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

As its title suggests, �Triptych� is in three movements. The first is a bold �Intrada� which contains fanfare-like ideas as well as more lyrical passages. The central movement is titled �Aria� and is the emotional heart of the work. Like arias of the Baroque period, it is cast in ternary form, with ornamentation of the melody upon its return. The rather austere central section of the �Aria� features a canon set against an ostinato figure. The movement ends with shimmering tremolando in the second violin and viola parts. The final movement is a fugue. Not a �dry� or �academic� fugue, but a devilish romp based on a compound-time subject that almost uses every note of the chromatic scale. If you thought fugues cannot be fun, think again! These movements are arranged from my Suite for Organ.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Christopher Maxim. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Christopher Maxim has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.