MARIMBA II part from episode for two marimbas

5 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

Jan. 2, 2010: EPISODE FOR TWO MARIMBAS was selected as a part of the Young Composers Concert at the northeastern MENC conference!

Episode for Two Marimbas is in three main sections. The first section is polymetric: it begins with an energetic riff in 7/8, after which the other marimba enters in 3/4 before later shifting to 7/8. The second section, entirely in 3/4, relaxes for a moment before beginning to ramp up the intensity again. The third section returns to polymeter, with one line in 3/4 and the other in 7/4. After a short build, the first section is partially repeated before the piece comes to a screeching halt.

(If you print this, try printing it landscape, not portrait as it appears. It’s landscape when I run it in Sibelius, but I guess Scorch can’t handle things that are on their side. If that doesn’t work, someone should let me know, and I’ll fix it.)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Michael Blasser. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Michael Blasser has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.