Exercise part from Sinfonia a tre (3)

1 minute
Classical music

This work has been composed for my highest grade students in harmony / counterpoint. The purpose was to build a piece of music for keyboard in the style of J.-S. Bach's 3 Parts Inventions (BWV 788 to 801). The idea was to give the fisrt 2 bars only (including the whole material of the piece, this is to say the Subject and Bass line) to the students, then ask them to finish the work. The challenge was to compose as close as possible to Bach's keyboard music. On the way to build the piece, ther are some demands according to Bach's style: End in Dominant Tone (authentic cadence in A minor) at letter A; End in Relative Tone (authentic cadence in F Major) at letter B. The piece I composed for this purpose �" named Sinfonia a tre �" consists in a 2 parts Invention in Fugato style: First Part (from bar 1 to 10) divided as follows: Bar 1 to 6 (letter A): from Tonic to Dominant; Bar 6 to 10 (letter B): from Relative to Relative; Second Part (10 to the end). The fugato theme has been rythmically modified all along the piece. I give the first bars (exercice) as an extracted part.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by François Piguet. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com François Piguet has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.