Viola part from Tootie-Flooties! (String Orchestra)

3 minutes
Jazz music

I have recently been making some arrangements of Tootie-Flooties! for various wind ensembles, removing the original piano accompaniment, and incorporating this in the existing parts.

A while back I reviewed a local concert where the South West Camerata played one of my own arrangements, which they’d recently played at the 2010 Edinburgh Fringe Festival.

It was quite a time since I made this arrangement for them, and, while I understand they’ve enjoyed playing it around the country, I thought that a string-orchestra arrangement of Tootie-Flooties! might have been something nice, and possibly quite different for them.

Having the facility for a few extra ’real’ parts did mean that I could beef up the harmonies and change things slightly, which is vital when ’reheating’ any existing material.

In accordance with the other recent versions of the piece, I’ve included an optional Drum Set part.

STOP PRESS I have now added a Violin 3 part which replaces the Viola part, where this is not available. Apart from one low F sharp, which has been amended, the viola part can, in fact, be played on the violin.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Philip R Buttall. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Philip R Buttall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.