Cello 1 part from Plea for Concordance

11 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

Plea for Concordance was written in 2011 for Polina Burdukova. It is for two cellos and piano and is in three movements, lasting just over 11 minutes.

This work was inspired by the current events in Northern African and Middle Eastern countries which, for various political reasons, are experiencing disunity and unrest. The first movement is called Family Concordance and expresses the notion that ’charity begins at home’. It has two thematic ideas; the first representing those squabbles and fights that often happen within families and the second is a ’reconciliation theme’ that is used to restore peace and harmony within the family unit.

The second movement is called National Reconciliation and represents the unrest that divides individual countries. The main thematic material is very intense and emotional as it represents how disturbing it is that any country can be divided, and the movement ends with a variant of the ’reconciliation theme’ heard in the first movement, again used to restore peace and harmony, this time to any country in turmoil.

The last movement is called Global Fellowship and expresses the need to go one step further, this being to create concordance between all the countries of the world. This movement is fast and joyful in character and integrates the ’reconciliation theme’ heard in the previous two movements, expressing the vision of how wonderful it would be if all the countries of the world could live in peace and harmony. The movement ends in a highly jubilant and optimistic manner.

The whole piece is prefaced by a quote by the Persian Mystic ’Abdu’l-Bahá Abbás:

O God! Dispel all those elements which are the cause of discord, and prepare for us all those things which are the cause of unity and accord!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Malcolm Dedman. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Malcolm Dedman has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.