Flute part from Eventful Journey

6 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

Eventful Journey is for a standard Wind Quintet and was written in 2011. It is in one movement lasting just under 6 minutes.

Ever been on a journey that has been ’eventful’, that is to say treacherous, full of unexpected dangers, yet adventuresome? This piece could well describe such a journey. It begins with a flourish on flute, oboe and clarinet, followed by horn and bassoon stating the main thematic material for the work. A 6/8 passage follows that is based on a rhythmic melody derived from the opening material. A varied version of the opening flourish leads into a slow section, a section of the journey that is more relaxing. Tremolos taken from the opening lead into a development of the 6/8 section which builds to a dramatic climax. The piece ends with a variant of the slow section, where the music becomes very sparse, ending with the solo stopped horn, suggesting total exhaustion once the journey is over.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Malcolm Dedman. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Malcolm Dedman has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.