Trumpet 4 part from Trumpet Voluntary (Prince of Denmark’s March)

Jeremiah Clarke
3 minutes
Classical music

A couple of weeks ago, I was asked to put on a concert with under a weeks notice. In my desperation I decided to invite every trumpeter at Royal Holloway University of London to perform. Thankfully the concert was very well attended and a huge success - featuring the premier performance of the Royal Holloway Trumpet Trio, three soloists, and a ensemble of eight trumpeters to finish! This arrangement of Clarke’s Trumpet Voluntary (Prince of Denmark’s March) was used as the finale. It is scored for piccolo trumpet in Bb, six Bb trumpets and Bb Flugelhorn. The piccolo trumpet solo is reminiscent of Maurice Andre’s performance of the same piece, whilst the very lowest octave of the flugelhorn (this is actually a playable range, as opposed to pedal tones - the flugelhorn has playable notes between written C and Fsharp an octave below the standard Bb range, hence why some soloists such as Sergei Narkaiakov choose to use a fourth valve to bridge the gap) is used to strengthen the bass line and specific points. This arrangement would also work for Bb Clarinets, with a Bass Clarinet playing the Flugelhorn part, as part of an unusual clarinet choir piece.

For anyone who wishes to buy… I can send you a link to a video of this piece in performance, please feel free to contact me with any queries.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Jonathan Scott. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Jonathan Scott has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.