Violoncello part from Chaconne (Ciaccona) from Partita No. 2 (BWV 1004) arranged for string quartet - part 1

J. S. Bach
8 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

This Chaconne (or Ciaccona) is the final movement from Bach's Partita No. 2 for solo unnacompanied violin and is widely regarded as one of Bach's most accompolished pieces, testing even the most experienced violinists' abilities. This arrangement for string quartet captures the power of the piece whilst maintaining the accuracy and precision so typical of Bach. The arpeggio section is left very much to the lead violinists' discretion, however I have written my preferred interpretation. The second part of the movement will follow shortly.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Sam Harrison. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Sam Harrison has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.