Cello part from Trio Sonata

15 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

The Trio Sonata was written in 2010 and is for flute, cello and piano. It has three movements: Introduction and Allegretto, Scherzo and Adagio.

The form ’Trio Sonata’ stems from the Baroque period, where the ensemble consisted of two ’melody’ instruments, for example, two violins or viols, and a bass continue consisting usually of cello or bass viol and keyboard or a member of the lute family. I wanted to bring the form into the 21st Century by writing for the three instruments as equals, rather than two melody instruments with accompaniment.

The first movement is essentially in sonata form with a slow introduction. The development section includes solo cadenzas for the flute and cello. The second is a very fast Scherzo containing many sudden contrasts of dynamic, including loud interruptions, initially from the piano. The movement ends with a solo cadenza for the piano and leads without a break into the final movement. This is an Adagio and develops some of the material previously heard.

This piece was written for Polina Burdukova.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Malcolm Dedman. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Malcolm Dedman has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.