20 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts


The following Medley of Ghanaian Tunes for the String Ensemble, have come out of my memory bank. These are tunes heard over the past decades of my current existence that I have harmonized and arranged. The �introduction� as well as the brief �interludes,� are newly composed, however. These arrangements have been done in the months of March - June of 2010. The African musicians whose styles have had influences on me include Kwamena Ray Ellis of �Keyboard Africa fame,� the �Wulomei� group as well as the Late Phillip Ghaho - the founding father of the Ghana Symphony Orchestra and the composer of the Ghana National Anthem. It is to these musicians that this work is dedicated as well as to the People of Ghana, whose popular tunes have made great impressions on me. It is also dedicated to music lovers, the world over.

IDEAL ENSEMBLE Violin I: 16 Violin II: 16 Viola: 12 Cello: 12 Double Bass: 8

SELECTED TUNES (Approximate Translation)

1) My Love to You 2) Be Happy 3) Ladies Love Opulence 4) My Two Troubling Sisters 5) The Home of Danger 6) All Shall Be Well as Nature is Just 7) In Praise of �Concubitus� 8) Undermining with Gossip 9) Admonishing the African Race 10) Don�t Flirt

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by E. Gyimah Labi. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.