Clarinet in Bb part from Compromise

3 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

The title is intended to literally represent the music in every way possible. The piece is intended to almost tell a story of two very independent beings (portrayed by the Flute and Clarinet). The piece starts quite flowing and melodic at first and both instrumental lines seem to compliment each other rather well, however, a metric shift soon appears and both lines seem to drift apart and become almost isolated from each other. This rift soon becomes even clearer as both instruments swap musical roles and the developing lines become even more isolated. Both parts drift in and out of sequence with each other, but generally, the feeling is that they are trying to achieve to completely different things. Towards the end, both instruments begin playing together again, and the flowing melodic phrases are refined. The �moral� of the story is that both instruments have very valid musical points to make, but they compliment each other best when they compromise.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Dan Phelps. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Dan Phelps has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.