Cello part from Berceuse, Op.16

Gabriel Faur´┐Ż
3 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

In addition to his two fine sonatas for violin and piano, which stand among the most important French examples of the genre, Gabriel Faur? also composed a number of smaller scale works for this instrumental combination. Faur?'s first violin sonata, in A major, Op.13, which was written in 1875, seems to reflect the composer's skill and natural sensitivity as a creator of vocal music; and it is this same facility at "vocalizing" an instrumental line which distinguishes Faur?'s best-known single movement work for the piano and violin combination, the Berceuse in D major, Op.16.

The work dates from 1879, four years after the completion of the First Violin Sonata. It takes the form of a single movement, often highly concentrated in mood, but nevertheless somewhat limited in emotional range and of little more than three and a half minutes overall duration. The work was first performed in Paris, at one of the concerts promoted by the influential Soci?t? Nationale de la Musique, on February 14, 1880. The composer himself played the piano accompaniment for the violinist Ovide Musin, one of Faur?'s most enthusiastic and committed champions.

Ovide Musin also premiered the alternative version of the work, in its arrangement for violin and orchestra, at a further concert held in Paris two months later. As Keith Anderson has written, "The Berceuse proved widely popular, something that was not entirely to Faur?'s advantage, since its appearance in salon and even cafe repertoire might have been seen to detract from rather than add to his reputation."

This arrangement features a supplemental third violin part and an additional bass part for use with string orchestra.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Glynn Davies. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Glynn Davies has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.