Violin part from Sonata No. 1 in D major

25 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

This violin sonata is the product of much deliberation, effort and energy. It is not only one of my attempts to create genuine original music, but also an attempt to positively incorporate ideas presented from many of my favorite composers and pieces. The first movement, the andante con variazioni, was inspired by the gorgeous melody from the first movement of Tchaikovsky's violin concerto and the variations from the second movement of Schubert's violin fantasie. As a starting point, I also chose the warm, proud key of D major. I wanted very badly to create an original, serene melody that was simple but thought-provoking. A darker timbre was needed to contrast with the happy and bright color of the first theme, so I chose the relative minor, B minor, for the cool, calm and collected flow of second theme. Also accounted in the composition process of this movement was the character and personality of its dedicatee, Rachel Leffel. I hope you enjoy it!

The second movement, dedicated to Ashley Vince, is dynamic, fast-paced Allegro in C-sharp minor. This colorful and powerful storm of the sonata was conceived out of a desire to experiment with chromaticism. At the time I was listening to the second movement of the Franck Sonata. I was captured by his use of chromatic movement and flowing passages that hide the expected tonal centers from the listener's ear. I also sought to incorporate this idea of ascending and descending scalar passages found in the first movement of Brahms violin concerto. This movement is capped off with a cadenza for the violin and a transition into the third movement. I hope you like it!

The third movement, an Interlude marked Allegretto, is a calmed compliment to the restlessness of the what has come before. This rich and mellow part of the sonata was procured because of a need for simplicity and tonal harmony. Unlike the other movements, this one doesn't have any direct outside musical influences. I was very much inspired by the humble and peaceful personality and true character of its dedicatee, Megan Fronckoski. Enjoy!

The finale, an Allegro Luminoso, is the culmination of the violin sonata. It opens with a brave and ambitious cadenza in the piano. To recap the entire piece, I based the chords from the main theme of the first movement. Moreoreless similiar to the second movement, this one is an experiment with new ideas. I wanted to maintain the simplicity and originality of the first movement so I opened the Allegro in D major with the all parts playing the main melody. The B minor adagio is reminiscent of the minor theme from the opening movement. The semi-fughetta opening the development is my attempt at trying a new compositional idea. Probably the most-influenced movement, I've attempted to incorporate melodic ideas from Dvorak, Beethoven, Bach, Mendelssohn, Franck and Brahms. This last movement is dedicated to Shydreonna Collins and her beautiful twins. I hope you all enjoy listening to this as much as I have composing it!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Jordan Johnson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.