Tenor Recorder 1 part from Prelude to Northumbria

7 minutes
Classical music

My 'Prelude to Northumria' was originally written to be played at the 1996 Society of Recorder Players annual festival which was held in Newcastle. In 2003 I adapted the piece for recorder orchestra and made one or two minor changes at the same time. The melodies in the piece are based on fragments from a Northumbrian pipers tune ('Fay's hornpipe') which is heard in its original version at rehearsal letter E. Shortly after this (at letter F) all the orchestra plays the tune but with each player proceeding at their own tempo! Order is restored at letter G and the piece ends quietly with the final note being 'blown away' with a 'white noise' wind like sound on the lower instruments.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by John Hawkes. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com John Hawkes has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.