Violin 2 part from Thais - Meditation

Jules Massenet
Other parts
Full details...
page one of the Violin 2 part from Thais - Meditation
This music has been transposed from the original key.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The opera Thais is generally considered one of Massenet's finest works, although it is not as well known today as his Manon and Werther. Based on the popular novel by Anatole France, the opera's libretto was written by Louis Gallet. It is set in fourth century Egypt and tells the story of a Cenobite monk, Athanael, who is obsessed with the beautiful courtesan, Thais. He sublimates his longing by converting her to Christianity and delivering her to a monastery. He then realizes that he has lost her forever.

Massenet composed the opera for the American soprano Sibyl Sanderson, who had previously achieved success in performances of his Esclarmonde. The first performance took place at the Paris Opera on March 16, 1894. The vibrant score, with its mysticism and oriental influences, reveals Massenet's brilliance as an orchestrator. The opera features a major ballet in Act Two. The juxtaposition of religious fervor and erotic tension inspired Massenet to compose some of his most sublime melodies, including the famous Meditation for solo violin, which first appears as a musical interlude in Act Two. The theme returns more than once in the opera and is used in the final duet between Thais and Athanael. The desperate monk returns to the monastery where he has previously led Thais in order to confess his love for her. He finds her near death, focusing only on her future life in heaven.

This arrangement comes with an optional bass part for use with string orchestra.

Jules Massenet
4 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.