Home > Orchestra > Unforgiving Corridor > Violin I part

Violin I part from Unforgiving Corridor

9 minutes
Modern classical music

Orchestra and Solo Violin

"Unforgiving Corridor" was composed between August and October 2000 and uses a fairly standard sized Orchestra, only to create denser textures all of the String parts are divided into two. This also helps create lighter String textures as well. The work is based around a dream that I once had. In this dream I was forced to walk down a corridor where people had lined up on both sides. As I walk down the corridor I am met with punches, kicks and beatings, some of the people are armed and hit me with various objects.

To represent this concept in musical terms, the Solo Violin part represents myself walking through the corridor. The piece begins with an introduction that ends at bar 48, this is where the second section begins and Solo Violin first enters. The initial material in the solo Violin contains fast scale-like passages, but with every "attack" from the orchestra the Solo Violin grows weaker and the rhythms become slower. This section ends at bar 128 where the third section begins and the main material for the solo Violin is counterwise glissandi. The third section is also meant to represent annoyance and frustration of not being able to regain my balance. This section ends at bar 168 where the fourth section begins which has the soul purpose of overpowering the Solo Violin. Savage pizzicato material in the solo Violin once again represent frustration and straining to rise above the predicament of being overpowered. The final section begins at bar 194 after the climax of the work with the Solo Violin, "writhing in pain". With the Solo Violin finally overpowered, gradually it dies away beginning first in the extremely high register and gradually moving to the bottom of its register.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Peter McNamara. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Peter McNamara has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.