Trumpet part from Bagatelle No.2 for Oboe and Orchestra

5 minutes
Modern classical music

This work is intended for young or inexperienced performers and is suitable for a School or Amateur Orchestra. The educational elements for the soloist are: 1. The opportunity to generate a sense of 'performance' (as required for Associated Board examiners) with a lively main theme and a more reflective secondary melody. 2. The solo part is not difficult, being scored in C major without unnecessary complication. 3. While the work is simple, there is (hopefully) sufficient interest and variation to hold an audience's attention for the 5 minute duration of the work. 4. The soloist is required both to lead and in some cases to accompany other parts of the orchestra. This is to encourage the soloist to perform collaboratively with the orchestra. The orchestral elements are also simple to allow fast take-up during rehearsal. The most demanding aspects being accurate reading of rests for many parts. The Harp can be substituted by the Piano and Double Bass with a Cello for School Orchestras. The solo Oboe part can be substituted with a Flute or Clarinet without modification to the score.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Jonathan Mitchell. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Jonathan Mitchell has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.