violoncello part from Der Fall Wagner

17 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

"Der Fall Wagner" (1999) was commissioned by the Third International Thomas Mann Festival in Nida, Lithuania. The main topic was "Thomas Mann and Richard Wagner", and I was asked to write a piece which included some motives from the music of Richard Wagner. The title of the piece came from the work by Friedrich Nietsche "Der Fall Wagner", and in it's own way reflects an imaginary relationship between these three men and the later change of Nietsche's approach to, and point of view of Wagner, who had a tremendous influence on the young Nietsche but later became his worst enemy. You can find "Der Fall Wagner" ("The Case of Wagner") also discussed by the musicologist Dr.Ernst Kurth in his famous work. For this reason, the well-known chords of the orchestral Introduction of "Tristan und Isolde" were chosen as the leading motif of the work. Their constant return and variation are significantly supplemented with the development of a new episode based on the well-known sirens' chord from "Tannhäuser". The coda is based on the opening motifs of "Lohengrin" as to assert, that "The Case of Wagner" ("Der Fall Wagner") is far from having one meaning.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Mindaugas Urbaitis. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Mindaugas Urbaitis has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.