Oboe part from Deep in the Heavens

6 minutes
Modern classical music

I first came across Herman Salinger's translations of Twentieth Century German Poetry when doing my A-Levels. The vocal line and harmony soon fell into place but it has taken me several decades to arrive at a definitive setting.

Ricarda Huch is unique in many ways - she was a writer and historian at a time when this was rare for a woman and in 1931 she became the first woman to be admitted to the Prussian Academy of Literature. She was a neo-Romantic when this was quite unfashionable and she had the exemplary courage to resign from the Academy in 1933 over its treatment of Jewish writers.

Read against this background, I found the two short verses carry an immense charge - they combine a longing for the infinite with the stark realisation of our transience. My setting attempts to capture the broad span of emotions and questions contained within these few lines. The models I had were the orchestral settings of Richard Strauss and Mahler, where the music often takes a much larger role than might be expected from a simple reading of the verse.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Cedric Peachey. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Cedric Peachey has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.