Second Flute part from Ye Olde Carol-Singers' Compendium - Once in Royal David's City

Henry John Gauntlett
1 minute

This is the first of ten carols I arranged some years ago for a carol-singing group that did the rounds of our village in Lancashire each Christmas. It uses the musical forces provided by my daughters and their friends ? two flutes, a Bb clarinet and an alto sax. The arrangements were relatively straightforward to ensure they could be easily learned and would work out of doors.

In common with the other carols, this arrangement has a lead-in for the singers and extends to two verses, with the arrangement being varied for the second verse. Depending on reaction to this piece, I hope to publish the remaining arrangements over the next few months, well in advance of Christmas.

Some practical points for performance ? plasticizing the pages is a sensible precaution against the music dissolving in the rain! It is also worth noting that the alto sax can easily dominate the group. The player should be placed towards the back of the quartet and take care to follow the dynamic markings. Tuning alters dramatically with changes in temperature - if invited indoors (as we often were), a quick check before launching into the next carol can avoid a disastrous lurch into bitonality!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Cedric Peachey. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Cedric Peachey has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.