Solo Horn in F part from Film Music Suite (Brass Band)

The Film Music Suite was originally written some years ago for one of my school brass ensembles. The music is not taken from any particular film but rather written in the style of various movies throughout the history of cinema. Not that I am interested in film music, just that young pupils seem to enjoy playing this type of work! In this orchestration for brass band I have tried to make the instrumental parts as interesting as possible without becoming too tiring to play. There are 4 movements: Horror, Romance, Comedy & Adventure. As each movement was written to provide contrast with the surrounding movements, I have included them all in one file. Parts for F horns & trombone, baritone, euphonium or tuba parts in bass clef have been added to this site. A "Landscape" version of this score is now available via the link below.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Francis Clifford. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Francis Clifford has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.