Clarinet in B flat part from Clarinet Sonata 1> Fantasie & Double

9 minutes
Modern classical music

This Clarinet Sionata was composed in 1975 for Angela Malsbury and David Pettit. The forms of the three movements are all unusual. The 1st movement (Fantasie & Double) is in two equal sections. During the 1st section the clarinet and piano share no material whatsoever, and in the 2nd section they ’swap’ parts, and each plays a version of what the other had in the first section. The 2nd movement (Black Hole) is over almost before it starts. Webern wasn’t the only twentieth century composer to have a monopoly on knowing when it is time to stop. The 3rd movement (Mobius strip) is quite literally a Mobius strip. The music for both clarinet and piano was written on transparent paper, twisted once and joined head to tail. The piece finishes just as the return to the ’right way round’ section is reached.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Derek Bourgeois. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Derek Bourgeois has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.