Violin I part from Suite of Spanish Christmas Carols for Two Flutes and String Orchestra

page one of the Violin I part from Suite of Spanish Christmas Carols for Two Flutes and String Orchestra

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This is a suite of eight Spanish Christmas Carols arranged into a five movement suite for two flutes and string orchestra. The frequent use of pizzicato is meant to be reminiscent of Spanish guitars. The first movement is a medley of "Las Posadas", "Entren, Santos Peregrinos", "??ndale, Juana!", and "?Dale, Dale, Dale!" The other movements include one carol each: "Pastores, Venid", "Las Campanas de Bel?n", "A la Nanita Nana", and "Los Peces en el R?o". It is not a difficult work, and can be performed by most middle-school orchestras. My choral arrangements of the carols "Las Posadas" Medley, "Pastores, Venid", Campanas de Bel?n", "A la Nanita Nana", and "Los Peces en el Rio" are already on (see below). With a few judcious edits and repeats, the works can be combined as a choral/orchestral piece.

I have just uploaded (9/24/04) the revised version of the work adding flutes to the opening bars of the introducion, and changing the flute parts from letter X to the end, giving the flutes 2-bar phrases rather than the original 4-bar phrases. It helps to be able to breath occasionally!

9 minutes
Latin music and World music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.