Trumpet in C part from Sonata for Trumpet and Piano

10 minutes
Modern classical music

Sonata for Trumpet and Piano is an abstract work combining modal jazz, impressionism, minimalism, and industrialism. I began with an ostinato and then expanded the central ideas. The first movement represents a distant, but pleasant memory coupled with a desire to relive the experience. There is a great deal of sadness in the fact that the past is forever intangible. Pedaling in the accompaniment prevents blurry harmonic changes, while the solo line avoids strong changes in contour whenever possible. The second movement awakens the dreamer to the harsh realities of the present. Complex, driving rhythms and sudden dynamic changes highlight the frantic pace heralded by automation and computers. The flurry of action is briefly interrupted by another wistful memory of the first movement complete with a cadenza of thoughts. However, the interlude is short lived as the furious tempo returns to show the unrelenting traffic of progress overrunning any who choose not to keep up.

A version containing only the trumpet part is also available.

Composer's note: This score as printed is correct, but due to Sibelius's handling of cross-staff notation, some notes will not playback correctly. The associated midi file, however, is correct.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Julian David Bryson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Julian David Bryson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.