Flute part from VANHAL, John Baptist: Quartet in F, arr. for Flute Choir (2fl, afl, bassfl).

Johann Baptist Vanhal (1739-1813)
20 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

The Flute Quartet in F (Op. 7, no 1) of the prolific Bohemian composer Johann Baptist Vanhal for flute (or oboe) and string trio has already been posted by me. For the present version, I have given flute 1 a fair amount of the violin part, and altered flute 2( the original violin part) accordingly. There are similar exchanges between alto and bass flute parts (viola and cello). The whole is now a delightful and eminently playable work for flute choir. N.B. If the repeated semiquavers in the Finale - so easy on a string instrument - are too much, please do just play staccato quavers. Finally, the low A and Bb in bars 36-7 of the bass part in movement 2 are an error: please transpose these up an octave.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Douglas Brooks-Davies. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Douglas Brooks-Davies has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.