Bass Flute part from SAINT-SAENS: Andante quasi allegretto (from Violin Concerto no 3) for Flute Choir (3fl, afl, bassfl)

Camille Saint-Saens (1835-1921)
6 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

The second movement of the Violin Concerto no 3 in B minor (Op. 61), dedicated to Pablo de Sarasate, contains one of those glorious and unforgettable Saint-Saens melodies. Inspired by Denis Bouriakov’s inimitable performance of the Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso (Op. 28) with Concert Lumiere, I have arranged the Violin Concerto Andante for solo flute and 4-part Flute Choir. The solo flute follows the solo violin part with only a few exceptions, and the lightly orchestrated accompaniment is shared happily by 2 accompanying concert flutes, an alto and a bass. The whole sits pleasingly well within the vocal range and timbres of the various flutes. I hope it will prove a repertoire favourite.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Douglas Brooks-Davies. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Douglas Brooks-Davies has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.