Viola part from Barocke Spielerei

8 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

The title "Barocke Spielerei" means "Baroque Playfulness." It is best translated into Portuguese as "Brincadeiras barrocas." Really, only the first movement was composed in 2011, as a result of fooling around on the viola - hence the title, and I added a piece written in 2010 for the same instruments, as a second movement. The third is "Post Vivaldiana No. 4" of 1969, transposed a tone lower in order to fit the general tonal scheme. The piece can be played by viola and piano alone; in that case, the pianist will have to take over the cello part in the fugato sections of the first movement. When creating the work, I used the method of baroque composers: Writing the two extreme voices and adding the figured bass and realizing it.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Michael Drewes. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Michael Drewes has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.