fiordiligi part from Cosi Fan Tutti

End of Act I

Alan Lawson
4 minutes
Classical music

During the final year of my music studies, student composers were split into groups of three and given an excerpt of an opera to rewrite the music for. The voice students then performed these mini operas one evening at the university theatre.

I worked with Pascal Blake and Skye Browne on a rewrite of the Mozart opera Cosi Fan Tutti. I wrote the middle part of our mini opera. Hopefully one day I can upload the first and finale sections too, as the other guys wrote great music for it.

Warning! This is only a midi file export. The brass and woodwinds represent the melody for the singers.


(mr tuba) Frozen in rigor mortis, see how their muscles tighten. Their handsome faces whiten on the brink of death.

(ms flutes) Help us somebody come and help us we’re powerless to save them. Despina! Despina! (mrs oboe) Did you call me. (ms flutes) Despina! Despina! Despina! Despina!

(mrs oboe) What has happened, how did they come to be in such a helpless state? (mr tuba) Driven by hopeless passion, despondent, melancholic. They swallowed pure carbolic. All help has come too late.

(tutti 1) We all must try to help them. (tutti 2) Tell us what you suggest? What is best? (tutti 1) We all must try to help them. (tutti 2) Tell us what you suggest? What is best?

(mrs oboe) There are still signs of life left, raise their heads just lightly, and rub their foreheads lightly, lightly.

(tutti 1) Let’s run! (mrs oboe) and get a doctor. I know of one whose marvelous with people who are ill, he’s known for working miracles. Without a knife or pill, he’s famous for his skill, perhaps he’ll save them still.

(ms flutes) What shall we do i wonder? We made a fatal blunder and brought about their death, yes it’s true. We brought about their death.

Libretto by Lorenzo Da Ponte Music © 2004 Alan Lawson

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Alan Lawson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Alan Lawson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.