Viola part from Caribbean Christmas Cracker

9 minutes
Classical music

This work is a novelty item for an orchestra to perform at Christmas. It features 8 Christmas Carols with reference to another two carols. All the carols are arranged in a Latin American Style and will give your audience a big smile factor as it did at the premiere. The ten carols featured are: 1. Ding! Dong! Merrily on High 2. The Holly and the Ivy 3. Jingle Bells 4. Silent Night 5. Away in a Manger 6. O Come all ye Faithful 7. The Virgin Mary had a Baby Boy 8. We wish you a Merry Christmas and hinted at are Good King Wenceslas (introduction) and Joy to the World (last verse of Ding! Dong! Merrily on High).

Great for use as a guessing game for the audience (don’t get them to sing the carols as the rhythms are different from the usual!) The work was first performed as part of the John Ruskin Choral Society’s Christmas Concert on 4 December 2004 at St Francis of Assisi Church, Ravenswood Avenue, West Wickham, Kent played by the Ruskin Sinfonia conducted by the composer.

Orchestra required: 2 flutes, 1 oboe, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, timp, percussion (1 player) and strings

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Adrian Connell. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Adrian Connell has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.