Violin 1 part from A Thousand And One Nights

Johann Strauss II
5 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Vienna, the waltz and the Strauss family are inseparable entities. The waltzes of Johann Strauss, Sr. (1804-49) evoked the air of the Viennese countryside, beer gardens and Heurigen. Those of his eldest son, Johann, Jr., at first had the same rhythmic vitality and brief melodies. After 1860, however, this would change. The younger Strauss infused the traditional waltz format and sound with a new vitality and sophistication that reflected the glittery, hedonistic spirit of nineteenth-century imperial Vienna. He melded the rhythmic drive of his father's works with Joseph Lanner's (1801-43) lyricism, and changed the rhythmic emphasis from the beat to the measure. Strauss' seemingly unlimited melodic invention prompted him to compose melodies that did not fall into the traditional four-, eight-, or sixteen-measure patterns of earlier waltz tunes. He maintained the basic outline employed by Lanner and his father: a slow introduction, (typically) five pairs of waltzes and a coda, but increased the length of each section and the organic unity of the whole. Strauss' orchestration is often picturesque, especially in his introductions, while that of the waltzes themselves approaches a Mozartean clarity.

Since the premiere of his first operetta, Indigo und die vierzig R?uber (Indigo and the Forty Thieves), Strauss extracted dance numbers from his stage works and published them as individual compositions. After the February 10, 1871 premi?re of Indigo, Strauss gleaned nine excerpts from the operetta for use as parts of dance pieces, Opp. 343-51, of which "Tausend und eine Nacht" (A Thousand and One Nights), Op. 346, is the best known. Although the public enthusiastically received Indigo, critics generally blasted the libretto, resulting in several revisions over the years, the most successful of which is by Ernst Reiterer in 1906, featuring an entirely new libretto and entitled "Tausend und eine Nacht."

Please note that this arrangement does not play back correctly, due to the D.S. signs not being performaed. This arrangemet comes with a supplemental third violin part, and an optional bass part for use with string orchrestra.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Glynn Davies. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to Glynn Davies has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.