Solo Clarinet part from Clarinet Concerto

25 minutes
Modern classical music

Written for Linda Merrick the clarinet concerto has the traditional three movements, the first movement and Romance being linked ala the Mendelssohn Violin Concerto. The first two movements are very traditional in it's writing, however the last movement pays tribute to the clarinet's role in Jazz in the fact that it is a Rondo which uses as it's main theme a twelve bar blues. Here you move into roaring saxophones and driving jazz rhythms with hints of the Bossa Nova and an ad lib cadenza from the soloist (or a fully written out Jazz Cadenza)!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Adrian Connell. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to Adrian Connell has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.