Flute part from Five Bagatelles

12 minutes
Modern classical music

Five Bagatelles for flute and piano was written in 1982 and minor revisions were made in 2011. The total duration is 11.5 minutes.

The five movements represent music from different regions of the world, without specific reference to any one country or region, with the exception of the final movement which draws on Javanese Gamelan.

The first movement is the most Western; the second is based on 3 notes in the flute and three chords in the piano, suggesting drum rhythms, possible African; the third is an exotic piece for flute solo; the fourth suggests an Arabic style and the fifth, which is the most extended, draws on various aspects of the Gamelan.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Malcolm Dedman. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Malcolm Dedman has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.