Piano part from Microcosms for Alto Saxophone and Piano

Sy Brandon
6 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

Microcosms for Alto Saxophone and Piano (2007) is an adaptation of a 1973 composition for saxophone alone called Micro Pieces. It is dedicated to Stacy Wilson. The main title reflects the brevity of the movements as well as the programmatic representation of small models of a larger concept.

I. Nebulae – This movement is a microcosm of the universe. Nebulae are clusters of dust and gas that reflect light and are the basic elements of the universe.

II. Puck – Puck’s early associations are with the devil, but Shakespeare made him more fairy-like. This movement is a microcosm of the devilish, trick-playing side of human nature.

III. Apiary – This movement represents the busyness of a beehive and is a microcosm of the hectic pace of 21st century life.

IV. Hiroshima – This movement represents the destruction of lives and property caused by the dropping of the atomic bomb on Hiroshima. It is a microcosm of the kind of inhumanity that our species is capable of inflicting upon one another.

V. Charlie Chaplin – Another side of human nature is our need to laugh. Charlie Chaplin is a microcosm of both the witty side and slapstick side of humor.

VI. Tempest – This movement is a microcosm of the fickleness of Mother Nature that unleashes its power of destruction and leaves as quickly as it comes.

VII. Four A.M. – Imagine someone wandering alone in the streets of a big city at this time of the morning. This scene is a microcosm of the part of human nature that often feels isolated.

VIII. March of the Ants – This march is both serious and whimsical at the same time. The whimsical is represented by one imagining ants marching to this music. The seriousness is the industrious and tenacity of ants that is a microcosm of this side of human nature.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Sy Brandon. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Sy Brandon has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.