Alto Flute part from Koehler, Ernesto: ’Danse des Marionettes’ (Six Salon Pieces, Op. 60) for Flute Choir (2fl, afl, bfl)

Ernesto Koehler (1849-1907)
3 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Ernesto Kohler was born in Modena in 1849. Taught the flute by his father from a young age, he rapidly became a virtuoso soloist. The bulk of his professional life was spent in Vienna and then St Petersburg, where he died in 1907. He is best known now, perhaps, for his flute studies - the Opus 33, in 3 books, and the 25 Romantic Studies, Op. 66. All are delightful pieces of music, often of a programmatic nature, in their own right, and, of course, technically quite challenging. His Sechs Salonstucke (Op. 60) are typical drawing room music - charming, melodious, a bit tongue in cheek, and enormous fun to play. I have arranged them all for flute choir. Here is no 6 separately - it will be a guaranteed concert favourite.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Douglas Brooks-Davies. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.