Flute part from Koehler, Ernesto: Six Salon Pieces, Op. 60, arranged for Flute Choir (2fl, afl, bfl)

Ernesto Koehler (1849-1907)
18 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Ernesto Koehler (Kohler, but with an umlaut) was born in Modena in 1849. Taught the flute by his father from a young age, he rapidly became a virtuoso soloist. The bulk of his professional life was spent in Vienna and then St Petersburg, where he died in 1907. He is best known now, perhaps, for his flute studies - the Opus 33, in 3 books, and the 25 Romantic Studies, Op. 66. His Sechs Salonstucke (Op. 60) are typical drawing room music - charming, melodious, witty, and enormous fun to play. Originally for flute and piano, I have arranged them all here for flute choir. It would probably be best if the demisemiquaver passage in No 1 was played as a solo with the remaining flute 1 players joining flutes 2. These will be a real favourite with players and performers.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Douglas Brooks-Davies. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Douglas Brooks-Davies has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.