Home > Orchestra > 03: Hero’s Tale > 2nd Clarinet in Bb part

2nd Clarinet in Bb part from 03: Hero’s Tale

65 minutes
Modern classical music

My Third Symphony is an intensely programtic one. The story is of an unamed "Hero" who triumphs over evil only in death. The first movement is a recollection made by the mourners at his funeral, of his rise to greatness. The second movement tells of his battle with evil and his first defeat. The third: his inner suffering and the loss of hope for his people. In the forth, while the enemy gloats over their victory, the hero reaches an epiphany; a realization of the neccessity of self sacrifice, and in the fifth that sacrifice is exectuted, achieving freedom from tyranny, but at great cost.

Further programatic details have been added to the score itself, but the listener is encouraged NOT to watch the score, but rather visualize (and in doing so embellish as they see fit) the story.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Matthew Scott Phillips. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Matthew Scott Phillips has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.