Violin I part from String Quartet No. 3

23 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

The quartet is presented in four movements with each movement connecting to the other without any real pause. The central idea is a long, lyric, and rather sad theme in D minor, which is presented in full during the first movement (a duet with cello and viola). In the each of the subsequent movements the theme is stated in a varied form at different points–often mixing with other ideas. The second movement is up-tempo and aggressive with (very difficult) alternations of pizzicato and arco statements. The third movement is a simple and relaxed dance movement that acts as a break from all of the relative seriousness which had come before. The final movement returns to a slow and somber mood with the central theme being stated towards the end in a more pure form. The quartet comes to a conclusion while fading out in a more bright and optimistic in G# major.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Elliott Miles McKinley. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Elliott Miles McKinley has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.