Flute part from Sonatina for Flute and Piano Mvt. 2

2. Adagio

4 minutes
Modern classical music and Classical music
Other parts

Sonatina for Flute and Piano is a three movement work, utilizing a traditional cyclical form. First movement– "Vivace"– is energetic in character and demonstrates both fiery intensity and soft delicateness. "Adagio," the second movement, does not contain the rhythmic strictness of the first movement, but rather, has a rubato feel to it, the Larghetto section oozing with expressiveness. The finale– "Allegro Moderato"– contains a strong feeling of motion, tenacity, and energy, but with graceful warmth. In a humorous gesture, the initial motive from the first movement returns briefly towards the end of the finale. The most interesting aspect of this work is the actual musical material itself. It presents complex musical forms in a very listenable and catchy manner. The melodic lines present an almost "popular music’" like quality in which the audience can grasp several thematic notions with little effort.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Thomas Joseph. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Thomas Joseph has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.