Timpani part from Night of the Roaming Dead

4 minutes
Classical music and Modern classical music

This piece was inspired by a run-in with a violent drunk. It was the first half of a piece of music that earned an equal first in the Australian Society for Music Education [Queensland Chapter] Young Composers’ Competition. The companion to this piece is Dance for Apollo. To create the mood, I refrained from using conventional key signatures and instead used tonal centres.

’All was dark and silent in the graveyard. But that was not how it was to stay this night, as the spirits of the night were to be awoken, so as to roam the darkness. Ghostly war drums broke the stillness as the spirits were summoned forth through the graveyard and raced around the unholy site. Their unbridled flights and inhuman cries built to an earth shaking climax as they menacingly marched through the gates of the graveyard and grandly returned with splendour to their earthly tombs for another day. All was dark and silent in the graveyard, and so it was to stay until next time…’

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by David Vaughan. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com David Vaughan has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.