3rd cornet part from Widor - Toccata (Brass Band)

5 minutes
Modern classical music

Widor’s organ music is full of richness and magestic tonality, and his Toccata from the 5th Symphony is a perfect example. This is a difficult work arranged for Brass Band. I wanted a large robust, agressive piece to display superior technique and blend. This makes a huge challenge for every player in the band, using precise rhythmic attacks. The main concern with this piece is the Solo Cornet part, which seems to keep a consistant 16th note rhythm. The viewer should note that this part has been divided every 2 measures to help with the difficulty. It is still a workout none the less! (Jan. 16, 2001)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Mark Preece. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Mark Preece has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.