page one of the Violin I part from A Little Pomp and Circumstance
This music has been transposed from the original key.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The orchestration is mostly the same as the original, but optimized to make it easier to combine a High School Orchestra (often just strings) with Band for Commencement or other occasions. The string parts are as in the original except for a few simplifications. Oboe and Bassoon have been reduced to single parts. Tenor and Alto Saxophone parts have been added, mostly doubling the F Horn, and a Baritone Sax part is provided, doubling Bass Clarinet. The Brass section has been reduced to 2 Trumpets, 2 Horns, 2 Trombones and Tuba plus an added Euphonium (Baritone Horn) part. There are 2 Percussion parts (Bass Drum/Cymbals/Triangle and Side Drum) plus Timpani.

The arrangement is easier to read than old parts and facilitates easily repeating or alternating the sections. It begins with an 8-bar INTRO into the Trio from March No. 4. This is followed (at the Coda sign) by the Trio from March No. 1. At the end of this second trio, one can either repeat back to the Trio from March No. 4 (and repeat as needed) or continue on to the Coda (from the ending of March No. 1). One can also jump to the Coda from the Coda sign.

Edward Elgar
7 minutes
Classroom materials and Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.