Violin I part from Dark Angels Dance

Katrina Gordon
4 minutes
Modern classical music

Just like ordinary angels, Dark Angels sing as they wake up… But once they’ve reached a perfect cadence and had a wash, they are much more mischievous than your everyday angel. They dance, skip and stamp their way through their day, having lots of fun being just a little bit naughty as they grant your wishes and make your dreams come true.

Written with the mixed ability of a regional string orchestra in mind, “Dark Angels Dance” is crafted to be enjoyed by young pre-grade-5 musicians. The first violin part explores 3rd position in D major and D minor with easy shifts. While the double bass part does include some Grade 3 level accidentals, it does not venture too high and is accessible to early grade players. The middle string parts (cello, viola and 2nd violin) can all be played comfortably within first position. The challenge and enjoyment in performing this piece comes from the mischief – the young players are required to sing, to use a mix of pizzicato, arco and col legno - and the dance skips along through some very unusual time signatures. Filled with melodies that will haunt you day and night, “Dark Angels Dance” is a piece to be enjoyed by performers and audiences alike.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Katrina Gordon. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Katrina Gordon has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.