Home > Duet > Life Goes On... > Percussion part

Percussion part from Life Goes On...

5 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

This is written for bass clarinet and percussion (suspended cymbals, two wood blocks, bongos and marimba) and was written in 2012. The piece lasts just over 4.5 minutes.

The title suggests that, despite certain circumstances that may hinder our progress, life still carries on regardless. The opening section, using suspended cymbals and wood blocks, suggests the circumstances that hinder us. This is followed by a dance-like section, using bongos and marimba, which suggests life moving on despite the situations we face. There is then a reminder of the hindering circumstances, as though we take time to dwell on them, followed by a return of the dance section, putting the hindrance to one side.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Malcolm Dedman. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Malcolm Dedman has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.