Trombone 3 part from Pictures at an Exhibition

Selections Arranged for Brass Ensemble

Modest Mussorgsky
26 minutes
Classical music

A suite from Pictures arranged for small brass ensemble. It only eliminates three movements (Tuileries, Ballet of the Chicks, and Goldberg & Schmuyl) and functions well as a full-length concert piece, maintaining the flow of the overall work. The arrangement takes influence from the Ravel orchestration when appropriate (e.g. Catacombs), but mostly adheres to the original Mussorgsky piano version. Any and all parts may be doubled depending on the specifications of the ensemble and the discretion of the performers. Premiered in Feb. 2010 by the Stanford Brass Ensemble.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Nicholas Hersh. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to Nicholas Hersh has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.