Contrabass part from Symphony No. 1, Paraphrasis of Original Version

10 minutes
Modern classical music

In 1966 I travelled from Mexico back to Germany for a vacation and to see my family again. My great aunt Emma Stiller worked at the State Theatre of Kassel, and she introduced me to the Choir Conductor, Mr. Rudolf Ducke. I had the score of the preliminary version of the first movement of my First Symphony with me, and I showed it to him. He gave me valuable hints as to orchestration and on how to make the piece more effective rhythmically by changing from the 6/8 to a 2/4 beat and using triplets. More or less recently I worked it out according to his indications, out of curiosity to see how they would work. The outcome was fine, even though I stuck to the 6/8 compass in my final version. This is rather an educational example, and it is up to the listener to decide which version suits him/her better. Now I include even the earlier version, which I worked out before consulting with Mr. Rudolf Ducke.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Michael Drewes. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Michael Drewes has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.