Guitar part from Six Dance Episodes

Other parts
Full details...
page one of the Guitar part from Six Dance Episodes

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Three of the Six Dance Episodes were written in 1976 and were performed by the Andresier Ensemble in the Wigmore Hall, London, in February 1977, after which the remaining three episodes were completed that same year. They are written for oboe, guitar and piano.

The six episodes are all brief pieces, in total lasting just 11 ½ minutes, and were originally inspired by hearing Japanese Gagaku music. Although not imitating the Japanese style, they all develop short simple ideas and some suggest an eastern form of expression. The exception is the 4th episode, an Intermezzo, which is a medieval dance where the oboe plays a treble recorder and the piano a medieval drum.

Other episodes have evocative titles: Dance of Life (number 1), Dance of the Elements (number 3) which features the oboe, Dance of the Universe (number 5) which features the piano and Dance to the Mystical Powers (number 6). The fourth episode (Intermezzo), as well as using the different instruments to evoke a medieval dance, also features the guitar. The second episode is entitled simply Lament.

It is possible for all six episodes to be choreographed, (the original three, numbers 1, 2 and 6, have already been danced by an amateur ballet company) but the whole piece serves well in concert form.

11 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.