Guitar 1 part from Toccata and Fugue in D Minor

BVW 565

J.S.Bach arr Lisa Marie Gabriel
6 minutes
Classical music

Bach's Toccata and Fugue in D minor for guitar trio - this was a challenge to arrange and will be a challenge to perform as it requires some tight interplay between parts at speed. Although arranged for classical guitar trio, it will work on electric guitar too. Guitars 1 and 2 are in standard tuning and guitar 3 has a dropped D bass. All parts are available in TAB too. I kept extremely close to the original organ solo, and for that reason it has some very high positional playing. It would be fine with a cutaway guitar and possibly much easier on an electric guitar for that reason.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Lisa Marie Gabriel. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Lisa Marie Gabriel has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.