Viola part from Danses Concertantes

9 minutes
Modern classical music

Danses Concertantes is for String Orchestra and was written in 2010 for the Shipley Arts Festival (UK). It is a suite of three imaginary dances: Dance of Fire, Dance of Tears and Dance of Joy, presented as a kind of mini concerto for strings.

For the composer, this sequence of dances expresses the human ability to overcome life’s many problems. The ’fire’ of the first movement is a metaphor for any problem we might encounter. The second movement expresses the tears we shed, or the pain we feel, and the third movement expresses the joy at being able to overcome the problem in some way and for being a stronger person for having done so.

Although conceived as a concert piece, dancers are welcome to provide choreography.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Malcolm Dedman. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Malcolm Dedman has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.